Carpenter & Framer shop drawing input needed for Wood Frame shop drawing detailing PlusDesignBuild

Hi Guys, you may know that PlusdesignBuild has a wood frame shop drawing detail function that works inside Sketchup.

Here is the original tutorial I made Wall frame shop drawing tutorial
The purpose of the post is to get feedback on the existing output.

I talk with Australian carpenters and framers who use the tool regularly, and their feedback is that it saves a heap of time, especially with gable walls and sloping/ skillion walls. Yet I can see room for improvement, e.g., adding cut lengths to the shop drawings, where it currently exports a CSV or Excel file.

For those of you who have not used the tool, It’s called the Frame Panelization tool, and it’s represented in the toolbar by this Icon :frame_panelization_tool:

I was originally a frame carpenter by trade and found it frustrating building walls onsite; chalking wall frames out on the floor and measuring off chalk lines took hours. The goal with the tool was to have a full set of wall-to-page dimensioned wall frames and shop drawings so we could utilise less experienced apprentices and labourers to help build a home.

I have several ideas to improve what we have now, yet it would be good to hear from you as I have been known to create tech that was not utilized :face_with_diagonal_mouth: Let me know if you have any questions on how to use the tool.

By the way, here is a screenshot of a model I received from an Architect in America. It is great to see architects getting involved in how a project can be built. I will do a tutorial on it as soon as I get some free time.

Here is my top 6 wish list.

1. Multiple strings of dimensions on the bottom of a standard wall are not required, as the stud spacing will be constant. They’re handy with a gable or skillion wall, though so don’t change that.